What is credit risk?

Credit risk is a term applied to the dangers associated with lending anyone goods, services or money.

It can be associated with the risk of a borrower failing to repay a loan, or a customer failing to settle payment of unpaid invoices. Low risk customers are deemed most likely to pay based on an assessment of liquidity and payment history.

Credit risk management solutions | What is credit risk

How to minimise credit risk

Minimising risk is an important part of any company’s approach to credit. At Atradius we recommend a combination of due diligence and credit insurance. To help support our customers’ own research, we provide a range of free publications including the quarterly Country Risk Map, which gives an overview of the level of trading risk associated with individual countries.

 

Our suite of Credit-to-Cash Briefings are designed to support businesses with insight into many issues affecting trade and export, including tips on subjects such as how to complete a risk assessment of your account receivables and how to make efficient collection calls.

 

If your business reports according to the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), your credit risk provisioning processes must comply with the expected credit loss impairment principles that were introduced in January 2018. Learn more about IFRS9 Impairment Standard.

 

Trade with a credit insurance policy

Credit Insurance is one of the most robust ways to minimise your credit risk, but it is not the only approach. Here are some examples.

If your customer fails to pay, trade credit insurance protects your business with the guarantee that your insurer will pay you if your customer doesn’t. Learn more about Atradius Credit Insurance.

Insist on payment upfront

Demanding payment in advance or cash on delivery is one way to minimise credit risk. This approach can be much less attractive to potential customers, however, so you’ll need to liaise with your sales teams to find the right balance for your business.

Secure a Letter of Credit

Issued by your customer’s bank, this is a guarantee that they will meet the terms of the contract or invoice. The downside is that these can be expensive, usually require evidence before they’re honoured and you will need a new Letter of Credit for each invoice (which can cost a lot of time and money if you need security for many invoices). Learn more about Letters of Credit.

Outsource your invoices to a factor

Factoring companies buy your invoices from you and put in the work to chase any unpaid fees. They protect you from the risk of non-payment, but they also take a share of your profit by paying you less than the face-value of the invoice.

Gamble on self-insurance

As with all of the other credit risk reduction options, you should ideally start trading relationships by assessing your customers. Does their previous trading history or the geopolitical location of their business suggest potential payment issues? If yes, it may be safer to trade with a customer that presents fewer risks. However, even if the risks appear low this may still be a gamble as some businesses can go bankrupt with no warning.

Credit risk management solutions

Find out more about how we can support your credit risk management requirement in your local market.

Related content

Why credit management is important?

Your credit policies or the way you approach credit management can determine whether your business thrives or fails:

What is business insurance?

Business insurance protects businesses from financial losses caused by customers who don’t pay, property theft or damage, liability, harm to reputation and risks affecting workers.

Types of SME insurances

There are many insurance policies out there for small business, some are a legal requirement and others provide vital peace of mind and can prevent a business from failing following an emergency.

Disclaimer

The statements made herein are provided solely for general informational purposes and should not be relied upon for any purpose. Please refer to the actual policy or the relevant product or services agreement for the governing terms. Nothing herein should be construed to create any right, obligation or responsibility on the part of Atradius, including any obligation to conduct due diligence of buyers or on your behalf. If Atradius does conduct due diligence on any buyer it is for its own underwriting purposes and not for the benefit of the insured or any other person. Additionally, in no event shall Atradius and its related, affiliated and subsidiary companies be liable for any direct, indirect, special, incidental, or consequential damages arising out of the use of the statements made information herein.

甚麼是信用風險?

信用風險是指客戶未能償還欠款的風險。了解Atradius香港如何助您減低信用風險。

信用風險是指貸出貨物、服務或款項的相關風險,例如:借款人無法償還貸款,或是客戶未能按照未結算發票支付貨款的風險。那些根據流動性和付款紀錄來評估,償付機會最高的客戶便屬於「低風險客戶」。

如何降低信用風險?

對任何公司來說,降低風險是信用管理程序的重要部份,Atradius建議採用盡職審查及信用保險的方法雙管齊下。為支持Atradius客戶自行作出研究,我們提供一系列的免費刊物,包括季度國家風險地圖,當中概述個別國家的貿易風險水平。

我們的信用與現金報告 分析各種影響貿易及出口的議題,包括應收賬款的風險評估及怎樣有效催收債務,從而為企業提供支援。

若您的公司根據國際財務報告準則(IFRS)編製商業報告,您的信用風險撥備程序則必須遵循於2018年1月推出的預期信用損失減損準則。您可在此進一步了解國際財務報告準則第9號減損準則 。

信用保險是減少信用風險的最有效方法之一,但這並非唯一方法,以下是一些減少信用風險的有效方法。

在信用保險保護下進行貿易:當您的客戶無法付款時,貿易信用保險保障您的公司可以得到賠付進一步了解Atradius信用保險

堅持對方預付款項:要求您的客戶預付款項或貨到付款是減低信用風險的方法之一。不過,此舉對準客戶來說吸引力不大,因此您必須與銷售團隊配合,尋找適合您公司的方法。

取得信用證:由您客戶的銀行發出,用以保證他們將履行合約或發票的條款。不過,信用證的成本昂貴,在兌現前通常需要證明,而每張發票都需要一張新的信用證(如要保障多張發票,則需要付出大量時間及金錢)。請按此進一步了解信用證 。

把發票外包予保理公司:保理公司可以向您購買發票,展開追收未付款項的程序。雖然保理公司能夠保障您免受拒付風險的影響,但它們可能取去部份款項作為費用,因此您所收回的欠款或會低於發票面值。

承擔自保的風險:與其他減少信用風險的方法相同,與另一家公司展開貿易關係之前,您應該先行評估客戶的質素。對方過往的交易紀錄或業務所在地點會否構成潛在的拒付問題?若是如此,選擇風險水平較低的客戶能夠帶來較大的保障。然而,即使風險水平看來偏低,能否順利收回款項依然是未知數,因為部份公司會在毫無預兆之下突然宣佈破產。

相關內容

甚麼是貿易信用保險?

貿易信用保險可以保障現金流。了解Atradius的信用保險如何保障企業,促進貿易往來。

信用管理的重要性

認識良好的信用管理如何有助避免到期未付款,以及預先發現可能出現的拒付情況。

甚麼是出口信用保險?

出口信用保險的運作方法與貿易信用保險相同,並特別專注於與海外客戶的貿易關係。

免責聲明

本網站所作聲明僅供一般參考,不應依賴用作任何其他用途。請參閱實際保單、相關產品或服務協議以了解規管條款。本網站的任何內容不應被視為Atradius任何權利、義務或責任的依據,包括進行買家盡職審查或代表閣下的任何義務。若Atradius確實對任何買家進行盡職審查,此乃出於自身承保目的,而非為受保人或任何其他人士進行。此外,Atradius及其關聯公司、聯屬公司及附屬公司在任何情況下概不就使用本網站所載資料的陳述而導致的任何直接、間接、特殊、附帶或相應的損害承擔責任。